Views from Milkwood

Hello Everybody!

My name is Adam and I’m one of the six who was selected to be a part of Milkwood’s spring internship program. It’s an exciting time for me as my interest in permaculture came about during a period of fairly major change. Professionally my background is a mixture of management, business and hands on geekery in the high tech world. Personally, well until recently … my personal life has largely been my work. About three years ago I had a major wake up call and realised that it was time to make some changes if I wanted to actually live the way I said I did. So I sold everything I owned (well except for my books, art and laptop!), quit my job and bought a one way ticket to Bali with a deliberately vague plan of making my way overland to India. Along the way I ended up attending a PDC course in Thailand and discovered that there was a word for all of the ideas and dreams which had been jangling around in my head, “permaculture”!

So here I am, two weeks into this internship, at the beginning of gaining the skills and experience I’ll need if I decide to develop my own property once I return home to New Zealand. I don’t really know where this ride will take me, but I’m looking forward to finding out. In the mean time I’ll leave you with some pictures from an early morning walkabout Milkwood.

6 Comments

Filed under Introductions

6 responses to “Views from Milkwood

  1. illithid

    So when you get back you going to teach us all about it?

  2. Of course! You can come work on my farm and I’ll teach you everything I know. πŸ™‚

  3. beautiful photos! hope you have an amazing time soaking up all that knowledge and spring sunshine!

    bel.

  4. Thanks Belinda! We’re a little short on sunshine at the moment but I’m looking forward to some warmth coming a long with spring! πŸ™‚

  5. Annabel

    Glad you found your calling early in life!

  6. LOL, it doesn’t feel like I found it that early, but I guess better late than never. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

